The Department  currently has Twenty five faculty members, which include 16 Professors, 3 Associate Professor, and 6 Assistant Professors.

The Department annually admits 45 to 50 students in its M.Sc. (Applied Geology and Applied Geophysics) programme, 33 to 38 students in its M.Tech. (Geoexploration and Petroleum Geosciences) programme and about 30 students for the Doctoral programme. Besides these, several Institute staff members, projects staff members, CSIR fellows and students sponsored by various organizations carry out research in diverse fields and also register for doctoral degrees.