The Department has currently Twenty One faculty members, which include 15 Professors, 3 Associate Professors and 5 Assistant Professors. The department also has two Emeritus Professors.

The Department annually admits 50 to 55 students in its M.Sc. (Applied Geology and Applied Geophysics) programme, 33 to 38 students in its M.Tech. (Geoexploration and Petroleum Geosciences) programme and about 20 students for the Doctoral programme. Besides these, several Institute staff members, projects staff members, CSIR fellows and students sponsored by various organisations carry out research in diverse fields and also register for doctoral degrees.